If you face a DUI Virginia, the skilled team of attorneys at Scrofano Law will provide the peace of mind you need through every phase of your defense.
You consider yourself a skilled driver and have probably even driven after have a few drinks once or twice, but has it ever occurred that your actions might result in a DUI Virginia? You may have gone through your entire life, thinking you will never require the services of a lawyer. However, if you get behind the wheel while even slightly impaired, you may be pulled over and arrested. In fact, you might be accused of a DUI even if you were not under the influence of anything. Whether you are guilty or not, you should retain professional counsel to ensure you do not receive harsher penalties than necessary.
If you find yourself facing a DUI Virginia, DC DUI Attorney Christopher Mutimer of Scrofano Law, PC can provide the knowledge and experience to help you avoid jail time and costly fines.
DUI in Virginia
A DUI in Virginia occurs when you are driving under the influence, whether it is in an automobile, motorcycle, boat, or another type of watercraft. If your blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08 percent or higher, you are violating the BAC laws. Even if your BAC is lower than 0.08, you may be charged with a DUI if you can control a vehicle, boat, or watercraft suffers.
Additionally, if your use of any drug, prescription, or over-the-counter medication impacted your driving performance, you might face charges under Virginia DUI law. If you’re charged with a DUI Virginia, you need to realize the seriousness of the potential consequences. If you receive a DUI charge, immediately call a local law firm to provide valuable advice.
DUI Virginia First Offense
Even your DUI Virginia first offense is a Class 1 misdemeanor, which is the highest level of a misdemeanor that exists in the state. If you have had no DWI convictions within the previous ten years, it is considered a first offense, and you are facing up to a year of prison, fines, probation, and license suspension. The charges for any DUI are set by statute, but specific situations like a high blood alcohol content or having children on board can increase these charges.
Depending on the particulars of your arrest, you may require a DUI attorney who also has experience with traffic violations in order to handle the nuances of your case.
DUI First Offense VA
As a misdemeanor, the DUI first offense VA penalties can be stiff. They can include any combination of jail time, fines, and treatment.
- Jail time of up to one year in prison
- Fines of $250 to $2,500, plus court expenses
- Treatment through the Virginia Alcohol Security Action Program (VASAP) costs the motorist $250 to $300
For offenses that include travelers under 18 years of age, the judge will add an extra five days to the transgressor’s jail sentence and an additional $500 to $1,000 fine. Since the consequences of even a first offense DUI Virginia are so dire, you must retain counsel as quickly as possible.
Virginia DUI Penalties
If you have already had a first offense, you may be increasingly concerned about additional Virginia DUI penalties for subsequent offenses. If you are involved in an automobile crash, and a police officer has caused you to believe that you are impaired, you can be detained for DUI within three hours of the crash without a warrant.
Penalties for DUI Virginia become more stringent with each offense. If you are detained for DUI a third or subsequent time within a five-year period, you will not be given bail while you wait to go to trial. You will also likely lose your driver’s license making traveling to work or school difficult. To avoid having your entire life upended, reach out to adequate legal counsel. Plus, if you are arrested for driving while intoxicated before you are of legal age to drink, a lawyer who also specializes in underage drinking should be one of your first calls after being arrested.
Virginia DUI Penalty
The Virginia DUI penalty that you receive is determined by several things, including prior offenses and other factors. The most significant consideration, though, is the blood alcohol content.
In addition to other possible charges, if you are condemned of DUI in Virginia, you will need to do VASAP. Even if the DUI resulted from your prescription medication, you would need to finish VASAP to clear your license with Virginia DMV. The program consists of two-hour classes for a minimum of ten weeks. Additional treatment like Alcoholics Anonymous may be required depending on your drug and alcohol history.
Excessive carelessness, while under the influence, can significantly increase your penalties and even escalate your charges. A reputable attorney will be able to provide the advice to help you navigate your case.
DUI in VA
If you are charged with DUI in Virginia, you will have a seven-day suspension of your license for a very first offense, or a 60-day suspension for a second offense. After the pretrial suspension is over, you can either retrieve your license in person from the Virginia DMV or have it mailed to you.
If you are condemned of a first offense DUI Virginia, your license suspension will last for one year. During that time, the courts may grant a restricted license that allows you to drive to the following:
- Child care
- Grocery store
You would need to set up an ignition interlock on whatever automobile you are driving for the first six months, to reduce driving otherwise.
A second offense DUI conviction in Virginia makes it harder to get to work. You would lose your license for up to three years. You may be able to get a limited license after 4 to 12 months, depending on how much time transpired between your first and second offense. The right lawyer will help you avoid license suspension after you have been accused of driving under the influence.
Virginia DUI Statute
Virginia DUI statute 18.2-266, forbids propelling any vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol, or any type of substance that impairs your capabilities to drive it safely.
You may wonder how long a DUI will remain on your record. Unfortunately, a DUI Virginia class 1 misdemeanor will be on your criminal record permanently. The offense will stay on your driving record, though, for only 11 years. This can still be inconvenient. Hiring a reputable DUI lawyer who also specializes in drug charges will be able to provide your options and offer advice if your DUI was due to drugs or medication. If necessary, your legal counsel will represent you in court.
DUI Arrests in Virginia
When dealing with DUI arrests in Virginia, it is imperative that you immediately retain legal representation. With jail time, fines, treatment requirements, and license suspension, the potential consequences of underestimating these charges could forever change your life and limit your options. Contact Attorney Christopher Mutimer at Scrofano Law, PC for the best advice, strategy, and representation for your particular situation.
NEED AN ATTORNEY?