Virginia DUI Lawyer
Virginia DUI lawyer Christopher J. Mutimer is ready to defend you when faced with life-changing DUI charges, no matter what the circumstances of your charges are.
Why Should You Hire a DUI Lawyer in Virginia?
If you have been arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving under the influence (DUI), you should consider hiring a legal representative. These are similar crimes, and the offenses carry the same penalties in the state of Virginia. However, the difference lies in that a DWI can be charged when you are driving with over the legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .08%. A DUI can be charged regardless of what your BAC is, as long as your driving is impaired.
All drivers in this state must consent to submit to field sobriety tests, as well as provide samples if the law officer makes a request for one. A police officer who arrested an individual on suspicion of DUI can request that individual to submit to a breath test or a blood test. A similar situation can occur if the officer suspects impairment because of drugs.
Refusal to submit to a test is a civil offense that results in a suspension of a driver’s license for one year. In addition, refusal to submit to these tests combined with convictions for DUI carries a license suspension for three years. Although prosecution would have a hard time proving driving under the influence, refusal to take a breath or blood test carries severe consequences.
Since even a conviction for a first DWI or DUI offense can lead to obligatory registration in the Alcohol Safety Action Program, and potentially large fines, you will want the best representation. Getting a DUI in Virginia can have long-lasting effects, so you should not overlook or ignore it.
Significant fines, a possible prison sentence, and limited or suspended driving privileges limit your options and make it challenging to travel or even retain a job. A reputable and experienced Virginia DUI attorney like Jay P. Mykytiuk of Scrofano Law can be instrumental in reducing charges or minimizing your sentence.
Understanding Virginia DUI Laws: Penalties and Fines You Could Face
As with most legal issues, Virginia DUI laws can be complicated. A first offense DUI or DWI is considered a class one misdemeanor in Virginia. DUI conviction is punishable by the following:
- As much as one year in prison
- Approximately $2500 in fines
- Entry into ASAP (Alcohol Security Action Program)
- One year suspension of the license
If you are found to have a BAC (blood alcohol content) of .08 or above, you will be charged with a DUI/DWI. Your chauffeur’s license will be suspended for seven days after your arrest, and if you are found guilty, you may receive a one-year license suspension.
Those found guilty of driving intoxicated in VA with a BAC between .15 and .20-percent will be sentenced to a minimum, mandatory five-day imprisonment. Those with a .21-percent or greater BAC will be sentenced to a minimum of 10 days in prison.
For a second DUI conviction within five to ten years after the previous one, you can face from one month to a whole year in jail, pay a fine up to $2,500, as well as spend a minimum mandatory time in jail from 10 to 20 days.
A third DUI conviction is a Class 6 felony. If it’s committed within 10 years from the second offense, the minimum mandatory jail time increases from 90 days to up to 6 months if the offense is committed within five years.
The rules are different if you are under the age of 21, so seeking the counsel of qualified lawyers is the best option for discussing the details of your case. If you are a Virginian arrested in nearby Washington DC, talk to a local DC DUI attorney for the best assistance.
Fairfax DWI Lawyer
Working with an attorney local to the area in which you are arrested is nearly always advisable. They will be most familiar with the local courts and judges as well as any particular municipal rules. Attorney Christopher J. Mutimer has worked in the Fairfax area for years and has what it takes to get the best possible outcome for you.
A qualified Fairfax DWI lawyer can assist you with a DUI in the area as well as a range of traffic violations. If you are found guilty of an initial DUI offense, don’t panic. You might be able to qualify for a limited license instead of losing your driving privileges. To obtain this, you and your attorney must “move” the court to obtain a restricted license. However, the court is under no responsibility to give you one.
Limitations on this type of license may include the following:
- Driving to and from work
- Driving during work hours with proper agendas
- Driving to and from an Alcohol Safety Action Program
- Driving to and from medical treatment
- Driving to and from school
Some judges in Virginia do not permit a restricted license until 30 days after a conviction. Additionally, Virginia defense lawyers may be required if you are arrested for driving while under the influence of opioids or other illegal substances. Be aware that drug charges may accompany a DWI in this case.
Hiring DWI Lawyers Arlington
When hiring DWI lawyers Arlington, you should look at reputable, experienced attorneys in the area who have a track record of success. Again, knowledge of the local court system can be key in these cases. Consult with an attorney before you admit anything to law enforcement, and work with your attorney to find the best option in your case, whether it is a plea or taking the case to court.
Time is often of the essence in a DUI situation. Don’t hesitate to contact an expert from Scrofano Law PC for knowledgeable advice and skillful representation as soon as the arrest or traffic stop occurs. We’re here to help.
If you have been charged with any of these Washington, DC drunk driving offenses or any other DC crime, contact Attorney Christopher J. Mutimer by calling 202-946-5783 or by filling out an online contact form. Credit Cards Accepted