Don’t Drink and Drive on New Year’s
Scrofano Law is providing $10 off Uber rides for DC revelers in the wee hours of January 1, 2020!
Ride Safe – and get up to $10 Off your New Year’s Uber ride in the District
We don’t want Washington DC residents to drink and drive this New Year’s Eve, so we are offering a Special Promotion called the Scrofano Law DUI Stopper to help cover up to $10 of the cost of an Uber ride home.
“We know from experience that New Year’s Eve is a night DUI (driving under the influence) and DWI (driving while intoxicated) arrests tend to go up, and while we don’t have unlimited resources, we’re trying to do our part where we can to help avoid these arrests,”
explained Christopher J. Mutimer, partner in the Washington, D.C.-based Scrofano Law PC, a law firm specializing in DUI defense. Uber can have notoriously high surge prices on New Year’s Eve after midnight, and a surge can easily triple the price of a normal Uber ride home.
How It Works
The code efwr5dc can be applied for up to $10 off per ride on Uber rides that originate in Washington D.C. within the promotion’s hours. The Scrofano Law Surge Stopper promotion begins at 12 midnight on New Year’s Eve (December 31, 2019) and runs through 4:00 AM on New Year’s Day (January 1, 2020). Riders enter the promo code efwr5dc under the Promotions tab in the Payments tab of their Uber app to claim the ride promotion discount.
What Happens If You Get a DUI in DC?
A DUI charge can be made with a BAC level of .07% or lower, and a DWI charge can be made with a BAC level of .08% or higher. “The legal limit is .08%, but people can be arrested and prosecuted even if they blow below .08 on a breathalyzer,” Mutimer warned. DC is also a “zero tolerance” jurisdiction, meaning that maximum BAC for drivers under the age of 21 is 0% and that driving while under the influence of mind-altering drugs, including marijuana can also lead to a DUI charge.
“If someone incurs a DUI charge in the District, they are booked, processed, cuffed, and taken to the police station. Their car is often towed. Sometimes they are released at the station with a citation to appear in court. Other times they are held overnight and not released by the judge until the next day. They can immediately lose their license if they don’t request a DMV hearing within 10 days of their arrest (in state) or 15 days if they have an out of state license.”
“We see a lot of clients who get DUIs around holiday times, and we know the personal toll it takes when they are arrested in terms of time, money and interference with jobs. Just for an arrest, someone can lose their driver’s license and their insurance rates can skyrocket. If convicted, they could face up to 180 days in jail. Here in Washington, D.C., an arrest can also cause problems with people who have security clearances, or on someone’s immigration status,” Mutimer said.
“A DUI conviction carries a maximum fine of $1,000 and/or 180 days in jail, and a DWI conviction can stay on your record for 15 years.”
“The biggest expense is often hiring a DUI attorney,” Mutimer continued.
“Our advice: if you’re going to drink, don’t drive. Use Uber or another rideshare app. Even if you need a $200 ride home, it will cost you less than a potential DUI.”